The power of du’a

The last Ramadhan was totally amazing even though we still get the bug that we did not do enough, Alhamdulilah alaa kulli haal.
I complained to a sister that I met recently about my du’a list for Ramadhan. I said I don’t know how to say what I want
and she asked me to register for visionaire by Sh. Muhammad Alshareef…. well I thought about it a lot and it ended up being one of the best things I did.
Then the course started and through some soul searching exercise came up with a lifelong list of the things I wanted. For instance, I always thought I wanted a female child but I found out I wanted a male child whose name was Bilal. I found out things I did not know about myself.  I found out I wanted to attend the seminars and workshops of Bayyinah institute In ShaAllah. Though married, my idea of marriage changed. The only thing I didn’t figure out easily was my legacy…
One of my top 6 dua’s was that I wanted to memorise the Quran and speak Arabic and an Egyptian Arabic school just open very close to where we live and am almost done with the first level MashaAllah. The Sheikh promised us a ripple effect and a halo effect and my family members two of them prayed for cars and in less than two months they got the cars of their respective dreams. I am in awe of the power of du’a in my life. Even if my dream du’as have not all been answered exactly the way I asked, I can see the milestones I set being reached.
Allah will always respond to the call of the caller whenever he calls 2:186
So what are you waiting for?
Allah responds in 3 ways; he gives you as you ask, he says there’s something better or he says now is not the time.
It is said that when you see the ones whose du’a was not answered the way they asked in this Dunya on the day of judgement,  you would wish yours wasn’t too so don’t look at people and say if she’s so righteous can’t she ask Allah for better clothes etc.
Also, do not complain and say I have prayed and prayed but Allah hasn’t answered me.
Finally,  in the same ayah that Allah promised answering the call,  He said

(وَإِذَا سَأَلَكَ عِبَادِي عَنِّي فَإِنِّي قَرِيبٌ ۖ أُجِيبُ دَعْوَةَ الدَّاعِ إِذَا دَعَانِ ۖ فَلْيَسْتَجِيبُوا لِي وَلْيُؤْمِنُوا بِي لَعَلَّهُمْ يَرْشُدُونَ)
And when My servants ask you (O Muhammad concerning Me, then answer them), I am indeed near (to them by My knowledge). I respond to the invocations of the supplicant when he calls on Me (without any mediator or intercessor). So let them obey Me and believe in Me, so that they may be led aright. 2: 186

This means we would have to obey Allah. We have to be in his good books so that he can respond to us.
May Allah accept all our du’as

One thought on “The power of du’a

Leave a Reply

