Diary of a bayyinah access 1 student : Beginner’s Blessings.

Bayyinah access is an online Qur’anic Arabic course with a simplified curriculum made available for students unable to attend the Bayyinah Dream course (I mean to up and leave your life and move to another place wouldn’t be easy, not to mention the cost implication). I wanted to be a dream student even though i did not see it happening but I prayed nonetheless to Al-Mujeeb. I cannot say how i found out about the course but by His grace I did (My constant stalking of all things bayyinah institute and Nouman Ali Khan maybe😉).
Then came the question – is this the right time? I have a new job role as pharmacy manager plus my MSc thesis, not neglecting my role as wife and homemaker, sister, aunt and friend. Would I? Could I? Should I?😞 So I prayed Istikhara and spoke to a few of my favourite people…at this point, i wasn’t even sure whether I was talking myself into it or out of it🤔. I went ahead and registered.

The arrival of my welcome packet few days to the commencement of the course was what got me excited. This excitement was crushed as soon as I saw the stress ball 😂😂😂. I remember thinking, “babe what did you get yourself into”.

So far we have had two weeks of the course. I did not make all the classes live. I listen to the recordings though and try to catch up on discussion sessions. Alhamdulilah I eventually do.
Ustadh Wasif is truly an amazing one as he repeats himself so often you start to hear him even when you doing other things. The repetition also helps you memorise what is taught in class in class. Let me not get started on his jokes😄😄😄.  Yesterday I sat down to study and Alhamdulilah to my surprise I was able to draw a mind-map of all I have learnt. This I did alone, by myself and from my memory.

(وَلَقَدْ يَسَّرْنَا الْقُرْآنَ لِلذِّكْرِ فَهَلْ مِنْ مُدَّكِرٍ)
And We have certainly made the Qur’an easy for remembrance, so is there any who will remember?
[Surat Al-Qamar 17]

Allah’s promise is indeed true.

I have a daily Quran Reflection Journal (a habit I started about 2 months ago). As I learn the rules of grammar, I note some of them in my journal just before I write the lessons from the Tafseer of the ayahs. And I can say, it’s not in studying Arabic you find the joy but in putting your knowledge into your study of the Quran. I pray this increases our love for His book.

image

Some of the things that have resonated with me in the last two weeks are:

There should be no mix up of the fathah and kasrah and dammah. It changes the whole meaning of the sentence.
David killed Goliath can be mistaken for … SubhanAllah.

We learnt something about heavy and light words. Heavy words are the default but a word may be light for a number of reasons. One of such is to show categorical negation (an absolute no; no wiggle room). So if لا is followed by a word that is light, it means an absolute NO. Then I am reading (one of my favourite ayah which I have read alot☺)

(لَا يُكَلِّفُ اللَّهُ نَفْسًا إِلَّا وُسْعَهَا ۚ لَهَا مَا كَسَبَتْ وَعَلَيْهَا مَا اكْتَسَبَتْ ….)
[Surat Al-Baqarah 286]

And I see the word following لا is light so it actually means… No, Allah would NEVER place upon a soul a burden beyond its capacity….
The translation alone doesn’t let you understand the gravity of the No.

Some words are feminine BASS (because the Arabs said so). One of such words is نفسا that is why the word always seems to refer to a feminine being. As seen in the ayah above. I found it mind-boggling in Surah Al-Fajr where Allah says;

(يَا أَيَّتُهَا النَّفْسُ الْمُطْمَئِنَّةُ * ارْجِعِي إِلَىٰ رَبِّكِ رَاضِيَةً مَرْضِيَّةً * فَادْخُلِي فِي عِبَادِي * وَادْخُلِي جَنَّتِي)
[Surat Al-Fajr 27 – 30]

Whenever I read the ayah and got to
(ارْجِعِي إِلَىٰ رَبِّكِ رَاضِيَةً مَرْضِيَّةً)

I always thought, Who is she?…this lucky person.

Then Mowsoof Sifah (oh yeah the funky Arabic grammar too is a plus). I found some adjectives do not describe the nouns that are  closest to them. Apparently the adjectives and their nouns can tolerate a long distance relationship. For example;

(وَإِذْ قَالَ مُوسَىٰ لِقَوْمِهِ اذْكُرُوا نِعْمَةَ اللَّهِ عَلَيْكُمْ إِذْ أَنْجَاكُمْ مِنْ آلِ فِرْعَوْنَ يَسُومُونَكُمْ سُوءَ الْعَذَابِ وَيُذَبِّحُونَ أَبْنَاءَكُمْ وَيَسْتَحْيُونَ نِسَاءَكُمْ ۚ وَفِي ذَٰلِكُمْ بَلَاءٌ مِنْ رَبِّكُمْ عَظِيمٌ)

And [recall, O Children of Israel], when Moses said to His people, “Remember the favor of Allah upon you when He saved you from the people of Pharaoh, who were afflicting you with the worst torment and were slaughtering your [newborn] sons and keeping your females alive. And in that was a great trial from your Lord.
[Surat Ibrahim 6]

The عَظِيمٌ is actually describing the بلاء not the word ربكم which I would not have taken note of if i was reading without translation. I would just assume it meant a trial from your great Lord. Also knowledge of the type of an اسم (ISM) helps me know further that if it was describing the word ربكم it would have had ال.

This has been my take out from the first 2 weeks alone. Alhamdulilah. And I have not made use of the stress ball yet.

I would need to remind myself of this feeling. Also, some people have asked if I would blog about my journey. I am not promising anything but I would do my best to capture some of my moments. I would also let you all know if and when I use the stress ball. Please feel free to ask any questions.

It is truly amazing that the answer to one person’s du’a to teach the Qur’an is also the answer to another person’s to learn the Qur’an. May Allah bless us all with knowledge of His Book. May He make us among those who love the Qur’an and never abandon it. Ameen. May He bless everyone that put in anything to make this course as awesome as it is. Ameen.

13 thoughts on “Diary of a bayyinah access 1 student : Beginner’s Blessings.

  1. Asfiya Ali says:

    Assalamualaikum
    I too am taking the course and I can completely relate to what you wrote and my kids are playing with the stress ball lols so alls going well for now alhamdulillah
    I also learned that if a heavy word comes after the word No ‘La’ in Arabic it’s is not an absolute no that only happens if a light word comes after ‘La’ then there is no doubt like in LA ILAHA ILLALLAH —>there is a solid no doubt that there is no God except Allah

    Subhanallah such gems make you appreciate this course and teachers all the more jazakillahu khair dear for your words they made me happy

    Like

    • Zahra says:

      So true Asfiya and I would like to add something
      The absolute no is only when a light ISM comes after LA and not FIL. Here you see dear sister, the word yukallifu is fil so this is not absolute no. It’s just a normal no. Don’t worry you’ll learn more about isms and fil later.
      Sorry to disappoint you but I wanted to clear the misconception many people will get after reading this article. May Allah bless your learning 😘
      Lots of love from access 3 student

      Like

  2. aisha ismail says:

    May Allah increase you in knowledge so that people like me can benefit.even though i came across you on instagram you have indeed influenced me in different ways. I now have a read and reflect journal even though it isnt daily i hope to make it daily insha Allah .jazha khalla khair

    Like

  3. Bin Ali says:

    Masha’Allah. You clearly reminded us the objective of this course by showing us how you can relate what we’ve learned so far in your daily review of the Quran. JAK

    Like

  4. Nayissa says:

    Caught your article following a tweet of Sister Fuseina. I was a student of access 1 (feb – may2016) it is not easy it s seriously pleasant and you learn amazing things. I didnt manage to end with flying colors still i was so happy for this beautiful journey. I will start goin through the records again to cover again what I missed. But you are definitely right 😅 It s an amazing experience😇 Best of luck and May Allah swt ease our task in understanding His words.

    Like

  5. AISHAH says:

    السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

    How much one can learn in such a short period of time. Truely الله blesses our time when ever we use it wisely.. May الله continue to guide you on your path and make it easy for us all. أمين

    جزاك الله خيرا

    Like

Leave a Reply

