Diary of a Bayyinah Access 1 student: Stressless Stress

This is the second piece in the series. Please read Diary of a bayyinah access 1 student: Beginner’s Blessings.

Alhamdulillah! One thing I have come to accept is that the course syllabus is amazing. The teachers and teaching assistants do all the hard work and all we need to do is put in a little effort. They are actually holding our hands like Ustadh Wasif said; all we need to do is trust them. Nothing stresses you out like asking, but Ustadh, What if? When they feel we are ready, they would tell us. Its like you hire an architect to help with a building and he has drawn all the plans and starts laying the foundation but you want to see the view from the pent house.

We covered the Irab of BISMILLAH and I thought it was the the best thing. And then we did that of the first 4 ayahs of Surah Al-Fatiha….that was out of this world, simply mind blowing. So I missed that class live and came back home late but was so tired to catch up so I went to sleep. I woke up really early (anyone that knows me well, knows nothing easily interrupts my sleep) and watched the recording of the class. As we applied the entire concept we have learnt and took those ayahs apart, I was in awe. It was so beautiful, I started to cry and I said to myself, I have gotten my money’s worth. If I could understand that in less than a month then Bayyinah has paid its due. You know what is amazing is that we still have 2 months to go In Sha Allah.

My Hubby and I do our best to read Surah Al-Khaf every Friday. So last week, I was explaining to him the different statuses of Dhul-Qarnayn in the various ayahs he was mentioned. I could see how proud of me he was. And then he asked me, “and how do you know a word is jarr?” I realized I just knew. Its like we were taught what it means to be jarr, ending sounds and combinations, then pronouns could be jarr, then ending letters for the five special isms, then a mudaaf ilay is jarr, then majroor is always jarr. Like I was actively learning and then next thing I passively knew. Like all this knowledge just passively seeped into me slowly and now you just know its jarr. And it wasn’t like there was a day the topic was JARR.

وَيَسْأَلُونَكَ عَن ذِي الْقَرْنَيْنِ ۖ قُلْ سَأَتْلُو عَلَيْكُم مِّنْهُ ذِكْرًا 

And they ask you, [O Muhammad], about Dhul-Qarnayn. Say, “I will recite to you about him a report.”(18:83)

Here, Dhul-Qarnayn is majroor. Its status is jarr because it comes after a harf of jarr.

حَتَّىٰ إِذَا بَلَغَ مَغْرِبَ الشَّمْسِ وَجَدَهَا تَغْرُبُ فِي عَيْنٍ حَمِئَةٍ وَوَجَدَ عِندَهَا قَوْمًا ۗ قُلْنَا يَا ذَا الْقَرْنَيْنِ إِمَّا أَن تُعَذِّبَ وَإِمَّا أَن تَتَّخِذَ فِيهِمْ حُسْنًا

Until, when he reached the setting of the sun, he found it [as if] setting in a spring of dark mud, and he found near it a people. Allah said, “O Dhul-Qarnayn, either you punish [them] or else adopt among them [a way of] goodness.”(18:86)

قَالُوا يَا ذَا الْقَرْنَيْنِ إِنَّ يَأْجُوجَ وَمَأْجُوجَ مُفْسِدُونَ فِي الْأَرْضِ فَهَلْ نَجْعَلُ لَكَ خَرْجًا عَلَىٰ أَن تَجْعَلَ بَيْنَنَا وَبَيْنَهُمْ سَدًّا

They said, “O Dhul-Qarnayn, indeed Gog and Magog are [great] corrupters in the land. So may we assign for you an expenditure that you might make between us and them a barrier?”(18:94)

In these two ayahs, its status is Nasb. Just last week i would have said because its a detail. After this week’s classes i also know he is not the doer of the action as the doer is contained in the verb so its (Nasb) a detail because it follows the Fi’L.

Most of the time I see people asking why isn’t Nouman Ali Khan taking the course. I believe Ustadh Wasif is doing an awesome job. We should all just give him a chance. When we registered, course instructors were Ustadh Wasif and Ustadha Fuseina, which is what it is. So no one lied to us. I also think if we concentrate on what is being taught rather than who is doing the teaching, we would definitely get more out of the course. The teaching assistants too are amazing. At least I have been in the classes of two of them – Sisters Nayyer (my own TA) and Zainah (a substitute) and they both rock. May Allah reward them all with Jannah. Ameen.

When I recite the Quran now, I first read the ayah in Arabic then I go, Harf of Nasb, where is its ism, oh there it is (such a long distance), Harf of jarr and its majroor, sama’a referred to as “she”? Oh yeah, its feminine because the arabs said so (BASS), look here an idafa and its mudaaf ilay is also a mudaaf (combo idafah), oh yeah a special mudaaf so another idafah, all four properties match – definitely a mowsoof sifah, a pointer word, oh its followed by alif-lam (a fragement), an independent pronoun so there is an is and now it’s a Jumlah Ismiyyah – so here is my mubtadah, my khabar and my MBK. Then I read the translation and find the “is” and three of the word “of” and I hear Ustadh Wasif say, “guys, stay on the train” like I ever want to get off of it.

Some tips to help the study;

I do get distracted sometimes in class and scroll my Instagram feed (yes! sometimes, when Ustadh say, “some people were on FaceBook, so let me say it again”, i am on Instagram). and at those times, the concepts are harder to grasp. I decided to always keep my phone far from me and my laptop and reward myself when i succeed in not touching it till the end of class.

For memorising some of the charts, record your voice and repeat often. i found the Fi’L chart a little hard and it worked. you can also try conjugating different Fi’Ls from the word banks. Just do not chant “Qatala” out loud, people listening to you saying he killed, both of them killed, all of them killed, she killed…would not go too well especially if you hae a beard or wear the hijab.

May Allah make it easy for all of us. Ameen.

Do feel free to comment, share experiences and ask questions. Jazakumullahu khayr.

9 thoughts on “Diary of a Bayyinah Access 1 student: Stressless Stress

  1. abiah says:

    and i just fil lyk am in frnt of my teacher.al risatul nahawiy
    yah nd mubaddiyah sarfiyyah would b of help to u i tnk…kip d gud wrk gng.may Allah rwrd u ya Aish…

    Like

  2. Umm Habeebah says:

    I attend a physical Arabic class twice a week as well as an online class partially. It’s always so amazing when I can read an ayah, translate and do its irab all in my head. I still can’t call myself a student of knowledge yet but this journey is beautiful. The hubs is proud of me too 😉
    BaarakAllah feek

    Like

  3. Asfiya Ali says:

    Mashaa Allah barakallahu feek had a wonderful time remembering the whole journey we took in bayyinah access 1, while reading your words jazakillahu khair for that.
    Yes Ustadh Wasif and all the TAs were wonderful and hatx off to sister Nayyer for being patient with us may Allah bless her
    Now Access 2 is ahead of us and hopefully it will get us cliser to the quran aameen

    Like

  4. ummkhadiijahspeaks says:

    mashaAllah tabarakaAllah ,may Allah increase us all in the real ilm ( ilm of Allah’s Speech) aameen. Naam it feels great when you are learning the arabic language and see those long hours and at sometimes teary eyes from feeling like you are so not learning pay off when you understanding a tiny portion of this amazing language of the Quran,

    Like

Leave a Reply

