Everyday Essentials: What is in your bag?

 

Asalaamu ‘Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah Wa Barakatuhu!

I have never really liked big handbags you know those types like Mary Poppins’ that have everything fitting into them. You get enough weird looks being a hijabi at checkout, and then confusingly rummaging through your bag as you look for your cards or cash…takes it up a notch.

 

And keys? They may be the worst things to look for. In those moments when I am in front of a locked door and looking for my keys, I have all my scariest thoughts come out to play.

Bags can be cute and stylish or big and bold. So whatever the size of your bag, the goal is to keep stuff organised. So either you get a bag with a lot of compartments or you invest in mini pouches to carry your essentials and keep them organised in your bag.

 

Essentials

  • Keys
  • Du’a book
  • A notebook
  • A pen
  • Identity card
  • Money/ATM cards
  • Phone and ear buds
  • Book or E-book reader
  • Pocket tissue paper
  • Hand moisturiser and sanitizer

 

Keys

They should be put in a pouch or a readily accessible compartment.

 

Notebook

Sometimes, you might just need to take note of tasks, big ideas, plans, shopping lists and even contact details (Yes! Your phone could run out of charge)

 

A pen

Or two, or five or ten. You know how when you are in the bank and ask someone for a pen and they look at you like how don’t you have a pen? I am the latter. Always have a pen in a compartment or put your numerous pens in a pencil case.

 

I.D card/Money/ATM cards

These can all fit into a wallet or a purse or a compartment of your bag so that they can be easily reached. A mint tin would make great storage for your load of business cards. If you have a lot of store loyalty cards, punch a hole in them and keep them all on a key ring.

 

Phone/Earpiece

I hate tangled earpiece. Wrap them around your fingers into a circle and tuck them into a pouch or compartment. That way, whenever you need them, they would be tangle-free.

 

Book/E-book Reader

We always need a book. For those who aren’t readers, audio books might help get you into the bookie zone. If your phone is filled with ebooks and audiobooks then you are blessed MashaAllah.

 

Personal care

A pack of tissues and hand sanitizer are necessary for emergencies. A lot of people are careless with their microorganisms so you would need to protect yourself. Some moisturiser and a lip balm for after wudhu epidermal dryness would be amazing for your skin.

 

 

A Du’a book

I would recommend the Hisnul Muslim a.k.a. Citadel of a believer a.k.a. Fortress of a Muslim. It has the required supplication for every situation. If you have this saved on your phone that is an added advantage.

 

Others

  • For pills, a pillbox might be a good investment instead of so many packets of drugs.
  • Sanitary towels may be valuable for emergencies.

 

What do you never leave home with?

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Everyday Essentials: What is in your bag?

  1. Zahrauu_ says:

    Wa alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuhu!

    You’re like the companion that brings my ideas to real life. Pretend the statement was a simile, it was meant to be.

    HandBag essentials 101. But I love big bags. Everything fits. I mean, I still dont get why people use bags as accessories. It is just demeaning. They are meant to be functional, yknow, like your ride or die, cant-do-without companion not some disposable ‘accessory’.

    Thats just plain disrespectful! I should start a movement; help me with a hashtag please..

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    Like

  2. Papatia says:

    Wa aleikum salam sis. For the last few years, I have switched to a smaller handbag to de-clutter. I have all of these in my purse hehe. I try not to go out without making dua first, keys, a phone and an ATM card. Wassalam hun :).

    Like

  3. awesums says:

    Aslm
    I too switched to a small bag quite some time back. I found it crazy having to lug this big bag everytime I stepped out of the car or needed to run a quick errand. And let’s not forget how heavy a bag can get. I thought I would just switch to a bigger bag when needed….. I find that I hardly ever need to do that.
    All books & Quran are stored on my phone and everything just needs to be compact and packed smartly.

    Like

  4. Fatima says:

    Whenever I got out, I have my son with me. So, I have to carry some nappies, baby wipes and spare clothes for him and also something for him to eat. I go out with husband all the time so don’t have to worry about the keys, wallet or cards. He has them with him.

    Like

  5. imanatss says:

    Gosh I can’t believe I never thought of popping all my loyalty cards on a key ring! I’m going to try doing that because I have so many – I like getting a great deal wherever we are lol!

    Like

  6. nidaspeaksbeauty says:

    Walaikumasalam wr wb!
    This is very useful and simply narrows down what we need to carry with us on a regular basis. I remember my college and university days where my hand bags were big cause i was never fond of school bag looks. My brother would tease me of carrying rocks in the bag cause it looked big and was heavy too. Not just that it consisted of books but your wallet, a lil makeup bag and etc hehe.. revives memoirs.. 😍

    Like

  7. Fozia S says:

    Wa Alaikum Asalaam Wa Rahmatullah Wa Barakatuhu

    Depending on where we actually go I have a relatively big bag..with snacks for the kids..drink for Bee as she always asks….their tablet incase Bee plays up if we are eating out….so yeah I often have a huge Mary Poppins bag lol

    Like

  8. usranaeem says:

    Such a great post!
    I don’t like big bags,medium sized bags are okay & we can put things according to the situation in them.
    I never forget to leave house without Lip balm,I’d card,my uni card,maybe a cream,a good book & yeah that’s it.lol

    Like

  9. Musings of a Muslimah says:

    Love this! I’m more of a backpack kinda girl myself as I hate carrying heavy bags.

    My one absolute essential item is a book I go everywhere with it. You never know when you will be stuck somewhere and have time to read!

    I used to carry notebook and the dua book with me but now I use the fortress of a Muslim app and have the Quran on my phone. I also use the Evernote app to take notes while I’m out. Just to save me carrying a heavy bag.

    Also since I got married my husband carries keys wallet etc so I don’t need to anymore!

    Also I would add a compact mirror for those hijab emergencies!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ramsha Rose says:

    Waliakum’asalam. I love this post because I can relate so much. It doesn’t matter what type of bag I have, I must organise and have a place for everything. I find it very confusing to just throw things in my bag without an order. Also, when you’re at a checkout you can easily put your purse back in your bag without having to stop and trying to organise your bag. Really enjoyed the post sister 🙂
    Lots of love,
    Ramsha | Rose
    xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

