UmmBilal Reads: The Productive Muslim

UMMBILAL READS: The Productive Muslim (Where faith meets productivity)

Author: Mohammed Faris aka Abu Productive

Publisher: Awakening Publications, 2016

Pages: 232 pages

I am not a big fan of motivational and self-help books. They all seem to say the same thing, which I find boring. This one, however, dared to be different. It was surprisingly awesome.
Well! Not much of a surprise to those who follow the journey of Abu Productive and the Productive Muslim blog. There was definitely nothing boring about this book.

img_20170102_100139_550

I got the book for myself for Eid last year but I did not read it until the end of the year when I was travelling. We all agree a book makes for a good travel companion. Also, I wanted to use it to usher in the New Year you know, do things differently. And Masha Allah, the timing was perfect. Okay back to the book.

 

Mohammed Faris’ writing style is crisp, clear and easy to read. The illustrated summaries were also a plus as they help you revise and remember core points. The book is filled with not only amazing stories, and examples, but also awesome recommendations and manageable steps to follow for practical implementation. The book is a great blend of Islamic traditions and modern psychology and science. The facts are well researched and he made reference to a lot of other books, which is proof that the book was a lot of hard work. Insha ‘Allah, his hard work pays off fully.

 

Some gems from the book;

  • In the introduction, he said, “because once you read this book, your productivity and the way you see your Deen will never be the same insha Allah – The Qur’an and Seerah contain countless examples, ideas, techniques and tips to boost productivity. The concept of “Productive Muslim is an ideal we should emulate. Our Deen demands it.
  • Du’a is not supposed to be a spiritual clutch. It does not replace hard work and productivity; it’s a spiritual booster that helps bring fruition and results to the action we take in life. Until we start taking steps towards our goals and dreams, we might just remain stuck where we are.
  • Sabr (patience) isn’t a passive act of waiting, but an active fight for survival, growth, development and results.
  • Ihsan (excellence) is indeed something to strive for. The concept can be applied to every aspect of our day-to-day life.

 

Some of my favourite quotes

  • The more we fulfil the values instilled by Islam in our lives, the more we’ll bring the best out of people, boost their productivity, and most importantly maintain their human dignity.
  • This world is the farmland for the Hereafter; here is where we plant our good deeds and improve society in the hopes of the reward in this world and the next. The two worlds are intrinsically connected.
  • The successful person in Islam is the one who tries their best to go beyond what is expected in all their roles.
  • You should not be aimlessly productive but purposely productive.
  • It is not our hard work and achievements that matter, but our sincerity and whether Allah accepts it from us.

 

Some of the lessons I have implemented

  • Being more grateful – I started this even before I read the book but it was reiterated. It does make you more selfless and positive.
  • I added an intention portion to my planner. Reviewing it often really takes you back to the why and so makes you work harder at achieving set goals even after slipping up.
  • I included a food diary portion to my daily journal. It helps me take note of what I ate and where I slipped and so better manage my nutrition.
  • I also de-cluttered my laptop.
  • I am working on developing the 7 spiritually productive habits insha Allah.
  • Actively working towards leaving a legacy that would benefit my Hereafter.

 

The book can easily be read in one sitting but I would advise to take your time and allow it to change you. Do not borrow it, but own it. It is a resource that you would need to go back to insha Allah. I would recommend this book to everyone.

 

My Rating: 5/5

Barakallahu feekum for reading. Please let me know what you think.

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “UmmBilal Reads: The Productive Muslim

  1. Umaymah says:

    Great review! I’ve been procrastinating over so much in my life and somehow each day passes by without me making a dent in my to do list.
    I bought myself the book a couple of weeks ago and I’ve not read beyond the introduction.

    Thanks for this review, it’s spurred me on to read it and imbibe its lessons.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iqra Asad says:

    I have wanted to read this book for some time but somehow missed getting it whenever I was in a position to get more books. I liked that you shared quotes from it. It definitely seems like a book to get. I will get it in sha Allah.

    Like

  3. Zee says:

    This review aptly describes the book, although i’m not done reading cos it better to take lessons imbibe them than rush to finish. I ll definitely recommend the book as gift to self. Great job Sis.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

