Moving with Barakah

We are constantly in motion. Whether we are going to school or work or dropping the kids at school then going to work, running errands, shopping, going to the hospital or gym or just getting stuff done, we are moving.

With all these activities, we sometimes feel we are too busy to carry out acts of worship; whilst in reality, most of our chores can be a source of reward. All we need is to have the right intentions.

Narrated ‘Aisha (Radi Allah Anha): The Prophet (SAW) was asked,

“What deeds are loved most by Allah?” He said, “The most regular constant deeds even though they may be few.”

[Sahih Bukhari: Volume 8, Book 76, Number 472 & 470]

Before setting out of the house, start with the du’a for leaving the house.

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ تَوَكَّلْتُ عَلَى اللَّهِ وَلَا حَوْلَ وَلَا قُوَّةَ إِلَّا بِاللَّهِ
Bismillahi tawakkaltu Allah lah wa la hawla wala kuwata ila billa

‘In the name of Allah, I place my trust in Allah, and there is no might nor power except with Allah.’

اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَعُوذُ بِكَ أَنْ أزل أو أُزل أو أَضِلَّ أَوْ أُضَّلَّ أَوْ أَظْلِمَ أَوْ أُظْلَمَ أَوْ أَجْهَلَ أَوْ يُجْهَلَ عَلَىّّ

Allahumma inni a’uoodhubika an adhilla aw adhalla aw azilla aw uzalla aw auw uzhlama aw ajhala aw yujhala ‘alaiyya

‘O Allah, I take refuge with You lest I should stray or be led astray, or slip or be tripped, or oppress or be oppressed, or behave foolishly or be treated foolishly.’

As you step into your means of transport, recite the dua for mounting;

بِسْمِ اللّهِ ، الْحَمْد’ للّهِ ، سُبْحانَ الَّذِي سَخَّرَ لَنَا هَذَا وَمَا كُنَّا لَهُ مُقْرِنِينَ وَإِنَّا إِلَى رَبِّنَا لَمُنقَلِبُونَ

Bismillah. Alhamdulilah. SubhanAlladhi, sakh-khara lana, haatha, wa-ma kunna lahu mukrineen. Wa inna ilaa Rabbina lamunqalibuun.

All praise is for Allah. How far from imperfections He is, the One Who has placed this (transport) at our service and we ourselves would not have been capable of that, and to our Lord is our final destiny.

If you Driving…

  • Listen to the Quran

There are amazing reciters out there MashaAllah. As it enters your ears, you feel the tranquility in your heart. Mishary Al-Afasy does that for me. Mufti Ismail Menk’s recitation is also blissful. When I am listening to his lecture and he recites an Ayah of the Qur’an to reiterate a point, I get sad when he gets back to the lecture.

  • Recite words of Dhikr (remembrance of Allah)

Abu Hurairah (May Allah be pleased with him) reported:

The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said, “There are two statements that are light for the tongue to remember, heavy in the Scales and are dear to the Merciful: ‘Subhan-Allahi wa bihamdihi, Subhan-Allahil-Azim [Glory be to Allah and His is the praise, (and) Allah, the Greatest is free from imperfection]”.

[Al-Bukhari and Muslim].

Abu Hurairah (May Allah be pleased with him) reported:

The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said, “The uttering of the words: “Subhan-Allah (Allah is free from imperfection), Al-hamdu lillah (all praise is due to Allah), La ilaha illallah (there is no true god except Allah) and Allahu Akbar (Allah is the Greatest)’ is dearer to me than anything over which the sun rises.”

[Muslim].

Abu Ayyub Al-Ansari (May Allah be pleased with him) reported:

The Prophet (ﷺ) said: “He who utters ten times: ‘La ilaha illallahu, wahdahu la sharika lahu, lahulmulku wa lahulhamdu, wa Huwa ‘ala kulli sha’in Qadir (there is no true god except Allah. He is One and He has no partner with Him. His is the sovereignty and His is the praise, and He is Omnipotent),’ he will have a reward equal to that for freeing four slaves from the progeny of Prophet Isma’il.”

[Al- Bukhari and Muslim].

Lookadat! And they are so easy to say. Just need to say it from our hearts.

  • Hifdh and its revision

Most of my new hifdh portions or my revision I do while in the car. Just find an app that can play set portions and on repeat. Like;

Qur’an for android users – It is my favourite cause you can select ayahs and repeat on a loop.Listen to a lecture, podcast or an audiobook

  • Listen to a lecture, podcast or an audiobook

I hate driving but the lectures and podcasts make it enjoyable. The cool thing about podcasts is you can follow a series. I am about restarting the Qalam Institute’s Seerah series and they have quizzes for the episodes which I think makes awesome (I love quizzes and puzzles).

I have not tried audiobooks though but the grapevines whisper its promises.

2. If you are being driven (on a bus or train)

  • Read the Quran

We should have a daily relationship with the Qur’an. It is not about the quantity of the Qur’an you can read but the quality, even if it is one ayah you can take in and internalise then do just that. The most frequent excuse we have for not reading the Qur’an is a lack of time. Take advantage of this time.

  • Write in your journal

Take the time out to appreciate your yesterday. what was amazing about it? What did you accomplish? what did you eat? what were your grateful for? what did you learn? what would you do differently?

you could just ramble on about anything and everything from the bottom of your heart. In writing is a healing.

I try not fill my journal with the negatives I never want to remember or people that hurt me so I can eventually forgive and forget.

“Journal writing is a voyage to the interior.”
― Christina Baldwin

  • Plan your day

If you have at least one planner (Hello! Planner addicts) or just a notebook and pen, take the time to write out your plan for the day. List the top 3 tasks you want to achieve insha Allah before the end of the day. These should include tasks you need to do and cannot delegate. Then follow with few more stuff you also need to do but not as urgent as the first 3.

“If you don’t know where you are going, you’ll end up someplace else.”
― Yogi Berra

  • Watch beneficial videos

Youtube is a great hub for videos and you now can save all your favourites to watch offline. I especially love this channel. Nouman Ali Khan is totally awesome.

  • Read a book

I have motion sickness so I cannot really enjoy this one. It is a good time to catch up on your reading goals. You can read from a book, a kindle or e-book reader or a phone. Masha Allah the Moon+ reader app for android has been good to me.

  • Catch up on all your favourite blogs

Masha Allah! the Blog Lovin’ app makes catching up on your favourite blogs easy. iOS users can find it here. It also has every kind of blog, whether it is a WordPress, Blogger, or Tumblr blog. It allows you to even discover new blogs based on your interest and you can save recipes, articles, DIY and ideas to read or try later. Some of my favourite blogs (in no particular order) are;

The Productive Muslim

The Islamic Online University Blog

YasSarNalQur’an – It has so many resources, Masha Allah.

Muslimah Bloggers

Gilded Dunya

The Blog Market

iHeart Planners

Qur’an imprints

Mariam Poppins

Inspired and fabulous

Oh yeah! I said some, not all. LOL!

Finally, this one.

3. If you are travelling in an aircraft (and you aren’t a member of the crew obviously. LOL!)

  • Read the Qur’an
  • Read a book
  • Plan your day or trip
  • Brainstorm ad develop your ideas
  • Journal
  • Recite words of Dhikr
  • Hifdh

4. If you are a crew member

  • Recite words of Dhikr

5. Waiting for something or someone

  • Call a family member

It was narrated from ‘Aishah, the Mother of the Believers, that the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said:

“The most quickly rewarded of good deeds are kindness and upholding the ties of kinship, and the most quickly punished evil deeds are injustice and severing the ties of kinship.”

Sometimes, we are too busy to keep in touch with our family members or friends. why not make some calls when you find yourself waiting in a place where you can actually make a phone call.

 

  • Plan your next blog post or write down your big ideas

It doesn’t need to be anything too drastic, just a few bullet points here and there.

  • Read a book

I once was held up waiting in my car for an hour and 30 minutes and I finished a whole book….Who moved my cheese. Well it was just  about a 100 pages😉

6. Trying to make the family’s meal

Start with Bismillah

Listen to the Quran, audio lecture or Tafseer.

Say words of Dhikr

 

Now, how about some Barakah to go, please?

 

Barakallahu feekum for reading this. Feel free to like, share or comment.

Question: How do you utilise your pockets of time?

 

17 thoughts on “Moving with Barakah

  1. Shukrallah says:

    I love this post! Such a beautiful reminder & I was really looking for a post that can simplify dua’s especially when travelling.
    My commute to work every day is half an hour each way and I use that time to make dhikr, read some Qur’an on my phone before my hectic day at work starts.
    I also recently learned the dua before leaving the home and walahi it has made such a difference to my day alhamdulillah ❤ Thank you, Jazak Allah Kheir for your effort & I will certainly share it to benefit others, in sha Allah!

    Like

  2. Farah Abdullah @ Flora Tavu says:

    “Mishary Al-Afasy does that for me. Mufti Ismail Menk’s recitation is also blissful.”

    We have the same taste!

    Also lovely post here, definitely something to note down. The introvert in me found lots of treasures here and these are all awesome things to do. For me I’m currently taking an online islamic course, so that’s part of my random moving activities but only when driven, which happens a lot now that I’m preggers.

    Like

  3. Rimsha says:

    These are such lovely tips! I will do my best to incorporate at least a few of these into my routine to earn Barakah InshaAllah. May Allah SWT give you reward for sharing this with all of us 🙂

    Like

  4. marinafarook says:

    recites words of dhikr. my most favorite. sometimes i just make dhikr in my heart and dont even know it! subhan allah how our soul works.

    Like

Leave a Reply

