Taking Back Charge Of My Scroll

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ

We are all authors, whether we see ourselves as writers or not. On the Day of Judgement, we will be presented with our greatest of works. How great would it be?

We would be unable to edit, promote, review and revise. This book would determine our fate. This book will be a record of our words, actions, intentions and reactions.

And [for] every person We have imposed his fate upon his neck, and We will produce for him on the Day of Resurrection a record which he will encounter spread open.[It will be said], “Read your record. Sufficient is yourself against you this Day as accountant.”Whoever is guided is only guided for [the benefit of] his soul. And whoever errs only errs against it. And no bearer of burdens will bear the burden of another. And never would We punish until We sent a messenger [17:13-15]

I usually have a cheeky answer to almost everything. I would spit it out as soon as I think it. As I started to be more aware of my speech, I would think it, taste it and then swallow it. I recently noticed that when I am hurt or upset and I have the rush of hurtful things to say, I am able to still fight my nafs and swallow it…or not?

You know how when you are angry and you are obviously trying hard not to say something hurtful and the offender goes on and like a dare says …”say what you have to say”. And all caution is thrown to the wind, you need to hurt them back and you vomit the words despite their unpleasant taste.

One day, I was replaying some of the things I said in an argument and I found that I said a lot of things that if I had never said them, my whole life would have been better. A fact I knew even before I said them, but I only said them because the offender pushed me to. In that moment, I realised I gave the offender charge of my scroll of deeds.

untitled-design-3

And We did not send before you, [O Muhammad], any of the messengers except that they ate food and walked in the markets. And We have made some of you [people] as trial for others – will you have patience? And ever is your Lord, Seeing [Quran 25:20].

Malik related to me from Muhammad ibn Amr ibn Alqama from his father from Bilal ibn al-Harith al-Muzani that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “A man speaks what is pleasing to Allah and he does not suspect that it will have the result that it does, and Allah will write for him His good pleasure for it until the day when he meets Him. And a man speaks what excites the wrath of Allah and he does not suspect that it will have the result that it does, and Allah will write His wrath for him for it until the day when he meets Him.” [Imam Malik and At-Tirmidhi].

 Whenever I find myself in such a situation, I think about the noble scribes…

And indeed, [appointed] over you are keepers, Noble and recording; They know whatever you do [Qur’an 82:10-12]

In the stories of the Sahaba, we find very good examples of moral behaviour.

A man insulted Khalid ibn Walid (Radiallahu anhu) so he turned to him and said:

“It is your scroll of deeds so fill it with whatever you wish.”

What deeds are we filling our scroll with?

I think it is high time we take back charge of our scrolls.

May we be among those who receive their book of deeds in their right hands. Ameen.

XOXO

Umm Bilal

 

 

13 thoughts on “Taking Back Charge Of My Scroll

  1. Othman Abdulrasheed says:

    Jazakillah Khayran for this really deep and insightful piece.
    Most times, we mortgage eternal happiness for a few seconds of earthly pleasure, which in most cases aren’t so pleasurable after all (taking the hurtful words we are most times quick to utter).

    May Allah guide us all.

    Ameen

    Like

  2. Farah Abdullah says:

    Wow, sis, lots of these are in my thoughts recently. Learning more about Islam made me reflect, what I still need to improve on. And looking at it, I have lots of them. Being a writer/author I always thought myself quite a good one, having no actual background and just experience… (I value experience a lot more). But what about as the writer of my scroll of deeds… how will I do it justice? It scares me sometimes.

    Like

  3. Iman says:

    Ameen to your lovely duaa! I love this post – it’s such a excellent reminder particularly in this age of social media and how much of our communication is online, where it can be easy to just respond or comment without considering the impact of our words because we can hide behind a keyboard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

